Dreamquake (Book 2 of the Dreamhunter duet)

Dreamquake: Book Two of the Dreamhunter Duet opens in the chaos that ends the first book (my thoughts). It’s a little hard to understand if you haven’t read the first book, but essentially, Laura Hame’s protest against the government’s exploitation of dreams, in the form of a terrible nightmare, has shocked the patrons of the dream palace. The story follows not just Laura but her cousin Rose and her aunt, renowned dreamhunter Grace Tiebold, in the confusion that follows, as well as the government’s investigation into the protest. I won’t give any more of the plot away, especially if you haven’t read the first one (go read it!!), but there are so many changes ahead for Laura Hame and her family, as they uncover the secrets of the Place and work to expose corrupt politicians. So there’s some politicking, some adventures in the Place (where dreams are captured), some romance, and great family relationships.

It’s hard to really tell you about this book. I don’t want to give away anything and yet at the same time, want to encourage you to read it! Can’t I just say, ‘read this! read this!’ and let that be enough? Probably not. So let’s see here….

Dreamquake was a completely engrossing read, with some rather genius plot developments that unveil intriguing ideas. I love that this series was a two-parter, as sometimes a middle book can get bogged down with explanations and details. Instead, with a duet, Knox was able to plunge the reader back into the scene and fall back in with those familiar characters. As I turned the last page, part of me hated that I had to leave this fascinating world of Laura Hame’s behind, but Dreamquake offered such a satisfying conclusion that it quenched my thirst, but also left me eager to read more by the amazing Elizabeth Knox.

Elizabeth Knox’s works
* After Z-Hour (1987)
* Paremata (1989)
* Treasure (1992)
* Pomare (1994)
* Glamour and the Sea (1996)
* Tawa (1998)
* The Vintner’s Luck (1998)
* The High Jump (2000)
* Black Oxen (2001)
* Billie’s Kiss (2002)
* Daylight (2003)
* Dreamhunter (Book 1 of the Dreamhunter Duet) (2005)
* Dreamquake (Book 2 of the Dreamhunter Duet) (2007)
* The Love School (essays) (2008)
* The Angel’s Cut (Sequel to The Vintner’s Luck)(2009)

One Comment

Comments are closed.