Library Loot (October 26 2012)

Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Claire from The Captive Reader and Marg from The Adventures of an Intrepid Reader that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library.

Oof! It’s been a gloomy few days here so it was nice to be out and about this morning, first in our neighbourhood playground then at the library. Ok so being at the library isn’t exactly being outside… but it’s one of my our favourite places!

The Color of Heaven (The Story of Life on the Golden Fields) – Kim Dong Hwa, translated by Lauren Na

Last book in the trilogy! Can’t wait!

A celebration of the triumph of true love

As Ehwa grew from a girl to a young woman in The Color of Earth and The Color of Water, she began to understand and experience love and relationships, with her mother as a model and confidante. Now, in the heartwarming conclusion to this lyrically written and delicately drawn trilogy, Ehwa’s true love comes at last, and as her mother looks on, she takes the final steps towards becoming an adult.

In the tradition of My Antonia and A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, from the pen of the renowned Korean manhwa creator Kim Dong Hwa, comes a girl’s coming of age story, set in the vibrant pastoral landscape of Korea.

The Garden of Evening Mists – Tan Twan Eng

I’ve also been looking forward to this one, especially after enjoying his first book.

Malaya, 1951. Yun Ling Teoh, the scarred lone survivor of a brutal Japanese wartime camp, seeks solace among the jungle-fringed tea plantations of Cameron Highlands. There she discovers Yugiri, the only Japanese garden in Malaya, and its owner and creator, the enigmatic Aritomo, exiled former gardener of the emperor of Japan. Despite her hatred of the Japanese, Yun Ling seeks to engage Aritomo to create a garden in memory of her sister, who died in the camp. Aritomo refuses but agrees to accept Yun Ling as his apprentice “until the monsoon comes.” Then she can design a garden for herself.
As the months pass, Yun Ling finds herself intimately drawn to the gardener and his art, while all around them a communist guerilla war rages. But the Garden of Evening Mists remains a place of mystery. Who is Aritomo and how did he come to leave Japan? And is the real story of how Yun Ling managed to survive the war perhaps the darkest secret of all?

The End of Men: And the Rise of Women – Hanna Rosin

Men have been the dominant sex since, well, the dawn of mankind. But Hanna Rosin was the first to notice that this long-held truth is, astonishingly, no longer true. At this unprecedented moment, by almost every measure, women are no longer gaining on men: They have pulled decisively ahead. And “the end of men”—the title of Rosin’s Atlantic cover story on the subject—has entered the lexicon as dramatically as Betty Friedan’s “feminine mystique,” Simone de Beauvoir’s “second sex,” Susan Faludi’s “backlash,” and Naomi Wolf’s “beauty myth” once did.

In this landmark book, Rosin reveals how this new state of affairs is radically shifting the power dynamics between men and women at every level of society, with profound implications for marriage, sex, children, work, and more. With wide-ranging curiosity and insight unhampered by assumptions or ideology, Rosin shows how the radically different ways men and women today earn, learn, spend, couple up—even kill—has turned the big picture upside down. And in The End of Men she helps us see how, regardless of gender, we can adapt to the new reality and channel it for a better future.

Everything Will Be All Right – Tessa Hadley

I’ve been wanting to read something by Tessa Hadley, so here are her short stories.

Three generations of woman, each determined in her own way to successfully combine relationships, children and domesticity with a sense of freedom, thereby avoiding what each sees as the traps of the previous generation.

Wee reader’s loot

Animal Soup – Todd H. Doodler

Clean-Up Time – Elizabeth Verdick, Marieka Heinlen (Illustrator)

What did you get from the library this week?

 

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “Library Loot (October 26 2012)

  1. I just picked up The Color of Earth after seeing it here.
    I’ve seen reviews of The End of Men. I’ll be interested to hear what you think.

    Like

Comments are closed.