Library Loot January 9 to 15

badge-4Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Claire from The Captive Reader and Sharlene from Real Life Reading that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries.

Happy Wednesday you guys!

I’m really excited as my library hold for the audiobook of Michelle Obama’s Becoming came in! It’s definitely one of the hottest books around, even at the library’s ebooks catalogue. I’m still on hold for the ebook version via the Singapore library – amazing there are 300 ebook copies there, with over 2400 people still waiting in total! I wonder if it’s the most ebook copies that the Singapore library has ever bought.

 

Also my hold for Crudo came in. Funnily, I’ve been on the holds list for Crudo a lot longer than for Becoming, but that’s because my library only has one copy of Crudo.

A brilliant, funny, and emphatically raw novel of love on the brink of the apocalypse, from the acclaimed author of The Lonely City.

“She had no idea what to do with love, she experienced it as invasion, as the prelude to loss and pain, she really didn’t have a clue.”

Kathy is a writer. Kathy is getting married. It’s the summer of 2017 and the whole world is falling apart. Fast-paced and frantic, Crudo unfolds in real time from the full-throttle perspective of a commitment-phobic artist who may or may not be Kathy Acker.

From a Tuscan hotel for the superrich to a Brexit-paralyzed United Kingdom, Kathy spends the first summer of her forties adjusting to the idea of a lifelong commitment. But it’s not only Kathy who’s changing. Fascism is on the rise, truth is dead, the planet is heating up, and Trump is tweeting the world ever-closer to nuclear war. How do you make art, let alone a life, when one rogue tweet could end it all?

In Crudo, her first work of fiction, Olivia Laing radically rewires the novel with a fierce, compassionate account of learning to love when the end of the world seems near

 

 

I’m working on several challenges this year (more here)

And one of them is the Reading Women Challenge, and one of the categories is Book by Jhumpa Lahiri.

 

 

 

Fruit of the Drunken Tree – Ingrid Rojas Contreras

This is on the Reading Women Award Fiction Shortlist

In the vein of Isabel Allende and Gabriel Garcia Marquez, a mesmerizing debut set against the backdrop of the devastating violence of 1990’s Colombia about a sheltered young girl and a teenage maid who strike an unlikely friendship that threatens to undo them both.

The Santiago family lives in a gated community in Bogotá, safe from the political upheaval terrorizing the country. Seven-year-old Chula and her older sister Cassandra enjoy carefree lives thanks to this protective bubble, but the threat of kidnappings, car bombs, and assassinations hover just outside the neighborhood walls, where the godlike drug lord Pablo Escobar continues to elude authorities and capture the attention of the nation.

When their mother hires Petrona, a live-in-maid from the city’s guerrilla-occupied slum, Chula makes it her mission to understand Petrona’s mysterious ways. But Petrona’s unusual behavior belies more than shyness. She is a young woman crumbling under the burden of providing for her family as the rip tide of first love pulls her in the opposite direction. As both girls’ families scramble to maintain stability amidst the rapidly escalating conflict, Petrona and Chula find themselves entangled in a web of secrecy that will force them both to choose between sacrifice and betrayal.

Inspired by the author’s own life, and told through the alternating perspectives of the willful Chula and the achingly hopeful Petrona, Fruit of the Drunken Tree contrasts two very different, but inextricable coming-of-age stories. In lush prose, Rojas Contreras sheds light on the impossible choices women are often forced to make in the face of violence and the unexpected connections that can blossom out of desperation.

 

I also picked up more Squirrel Girl comics. Comics and graphic novels are one thing that I borrow more print copies of, mostly because Overdrive and Libby don’t have many comics, and I don’t really want to join one of those Marvel subscription plan things.

 

 

Here’s my kids’ library loot this week:

 

Here’s the link-up!

Advertisements

7 Comments

  1. I’m glad I’m not the only one who plays the library hold game. I already had several, but I figured out they wouldn’t be in for a while…and then I added some more!

    I haven’t read Squirrel Girl yet, but I feel like it would be a perfect comic for Readathon in April.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Thanks for stopping by! Leave a reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s