Things That Make Me Pick Up a Book #TopTenTuesday

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic is:

Things That Make Me Pick Up a Book

In no order, just simply off the top of my head…

The cover

What can I say, I do indeed judge a book by its cover. And these days, covers are just getting better. Some recent reads that I have picked up because of their covers. Can you blame me? Just look at these beauties!

The writer

I try to read books by women writers and writers with diverse backgrounds. I’m especially drawn to writers from Asia, and especially Southeast Asia where I’m originally from. Pictured are some of the writers whose books I’d automatically pick up, probably without even bothering to read the synopsis!

Reviews from trusted sources

Like my Goodreads friends and some bloggers I’ve followed through the years, like Buried in Print, Captive Reader. And some genre-specific bloggers like SFF blog The Illustrated Page. Also, I’m on Litsy quite a bit and I often pick up books that my fellow Littens rave about.

The award longlists and shortlists

This is a tricky one as there are SO MANY book awards out there. But I do like how they sometimes open my eyes to new-to-me authors. Some of the award news I keep my eye out for include:

FOMO Fear of Missing Out

Yeah, Instagram and Litsy have ruined my reading plans so often. All those pretty book photos and often, of the same books that are just published or about to be published and I have book envy and think, oh I need to read that!

Things that won’t make me pick up a book

Anything that says “for fans of Gone Girl or Girl on the Train”

Or really, titles with “girl”

Also, books for “fans of Fifty Shades”

What about you? What makes you pick up a book?

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish in June of 2010 and was moved to That Artsy Reader Girl in January of 2018.

Advertisements

12 Comments

Comments are closed.